Gryaznov and Hakobyan

Salon at Klavierhaus

Gryaznov and Hakobyan
1 mars 2020   3:00 PM
Salon at Klavierhaus
790 11th Avenue, New York, New York 10019
New York - United States

Award winning pianist-composers Vyacheslav Gryaznov and Karen Hakobyan will join forces as a powerhouse duo of virtuosic tour de force to present Mr. Gryaznov’s original composition Rhapsody in Black in three movements based on Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess in the first half, and Rachmaninov’s beloved Suite No. 1 for two pianos in the second half.

"The art of the piano transcription is alive and kicking – or, more accurately, alive and singing in the hands of Vyacheslav Gryaznov."

Jed Distler, Gramophone UK

“Hakobyan’s precocious enthusiasm for making and writing music is infectious.”

New York Concert Review


V. GRYAZNOV Rhapsody “In Black” for two pianos (based on Gershwin's Porgy and Bess)

I. Day in New York. Porgy (Introduction, 1st Piano cadenza – Porgy’s hope, Porgy’s Story, Final)

II. Bess. Night (Bess alone – Recitative, Bess theme, cocaine theme; Variations – Night club)

III. Bess and Porgy (2nd Piano cadenza – Bess & Porgy’s Duet, Sunrise, Lullaby, Epilogue)


S. RACHMANINOFF Suite No. 1 Op. 5 in G Minor for two pianos

I. Barcarolle/Allegretto (G minor)

II. Oh Night, Oh Love/Adagio sostenuto (D major)

III. Tears/Largo di molto (G minor)

IV. Easter/Allegro maestoso (G minor)

Back to the calendar